Greensleeves

Se dice que Enrique VIII escribió esta canción para Anna Bolena

 

Acerca de teresadey

I'm a writer and a Creative Writing teacher at the UACM in Mexico City.

Publicado el 05/01/2011 en La Era Isabelina. Añade a favoritos el enlace permanente. 2 comentarios.

  1. http://lyricstranslate.com
    Greensleeves (All 18 verses)

    1
    Alas my loue, ye do me wrong,
    to cast me off discurteously:
    And I haue loued you so long
    Delighting in your companie.

    chorus:
    Greensleeues was all my ioy,
    Greensleeues was my delight:
    Greensleeues was my heart of gold,
    And who but my Ladie Greensleeues.
    2
    I haue been readie at your hand,
    to grant what euer you would craue.
    I haue both waged life and land,
    your loue and good will for to haue.
    *chorus*
    3
    I bought three kerchers to thy head,
    that were wrought fine and gallantly:
    I kept thee both boord and bed,
    Which cost my purse wel fauouredly,
    *chorus*
    4
    I bought thee peticotes of the best,
    the cloth so fine as might be:
    I gaue thee iewels for thy chest,
    and all this cost I spent on thee.
    *chorus*
    5
    Thy smock of silk, both faire and white,
    with gold embrodered gorgeously:
    Thy peticote of Sendall right:
    and thus I bought thee gladly.
    *chorus*
    6
    Thy girdle of gold so red,
    with pearles bedecked sumptuously:
    The like no other lasses had,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me,
    *chorus*
    7
    Thy purse and eke thy gay guilt kniues,
    thy pincase gallant to the eie:
    No better wore the Burgesse wiues,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    8
    Thy crimson stockings all of silk,
    with golde all wrought aboue the knee,
    Thy pumps as white as was the milk,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    9
    Thy gown was of the grossie green,
    thy sleeues of Satten hanging by:
    Which made thee be our haruest Queen,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    10
    Thy garters fringed with the golde,
    And siluer aglets hanging by,
    Which made thee blithe for to beholde,
    And yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    11
    My gayest gelding I thee gaue,
    To ride where euer liked thee,
    No Ladie euer was so braue,
    And yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    12
    My men were clothed all in green,
    And they did euer wait on thee:
    Al this was gallant to be seen,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    13
    They set thee vp, they took thee downe,
    they serued thee with humilitie,
    Thy foote might not once touch the ground,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    14
    For euerie morning when thou rose,
    I sent thee dainties orderly:
    To cheare thy stomack from all woes,
    and yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    15
    Thou couldst desire no earthly thing.
    But stil thou hadst it readily:
    Thy musicke still to play and sing,
    And yet thou wouldst not loue me.
    *chorus*
    16
    And who did pay for all this geare,
    that thou didst spend when pleased thee?
    Euen I that am reiected here,
    and thou disdainst to loue me.
    *chorus*
    17
    Wel, I wil pray to God on hie,
    that thou my constancie maist see:
    And that yet once before I die,
    thou wilt vouchsafe to loue me.
    *chorus*
    18
    Greensleeues now farewel adue,
    God I pray to prosper thee:
    For I am stil thy louer true,
    come once againe and loue me.
    *chorus*

    Read more at http://lyricstranslate.com/en/Anonymous-Greensleeves-All-18-verses-lyrics.html#vgk1hOMoZd5gvqSH.99

Responder

